Coin Community Family of Web Sites
Like us on Facebook! Subscribe to our Youtube Channel! Check out our Twitter! Check out our Pinterest!
Username:
Password:
Save Password
Forgot your Password?

Welcome Guest! Need help? Got a question? Inherit some coins?
Our coin forum is completely free! Register Now!

1899 Barber Half Dollar W/ O Mint - Send For Grading?

Next Page

To participate in the forum you must log in or register.
Author Previous Topic Topic Next Topic
Page: of 2
United States
6 Posts
 Posted 09/21/2019  01:10 am Show Profile   Bookmark this topic Add Shaw119 to your friends list Get a Link to this Message
Good evening. I found this coin on a farm that has been in my family for 5 generations. I would like to know your thoughts on whether I should send it for grading. It appears to be in beautiful condition but I am not an expert. I would appreciate your opinions on grade and approximate value although I have no intention of selling this heirloom item. It is quite possible my Great Grandfather or Grandmother lost this coin while enjoying the shade of a small tree that is much older and larger now.

Thank you all in advance.

Pillar of the Community
Learn More...
United States
544 Posts
 Posted 09/21/2019  01:27 am  Show Profile   Bookmark this reply Add Gincoin43 to your friends list Get a Link to this Reply
Found where? It doesn't exactly look like its been in the ground.

Since it looks cleaned id say maybe $80 raw, but thats a guess really.
United States
6 Posts
 Posted 09/21/2019  01:37 am  Show Profile   Bookmark this reply Add Shaw119 to your friends list Get a Link to this Reply
I found this on edge at 12 inches while metal detecting. Other than wiping the dirt off this is how it came out of the ground.
United States
6 Posts
 Posted 09/21/2019  02:21 am  Show Profile   Bookmark this reply Add Shaw119 to your friends list Get a Link to this Reply
Here are some better pictures with improved lighting

Pillar of the Community
Learn More...