Coin Community Family of Web Sites
Like us on Facebook! Subscribe to our Youtube Channel! Check out our Twitter! Check out our Pinterest!
Username:
Password:
Save Password
Forgot your Password?

Welcome Guest! Need help? Got a question? Inherit some coins?
Our coin forum is completely free! Register Now!

Is This Histamenon Real?

To participate in the forum you must log in or register.
Author Previous Topic Topic Next Topic  

United Kingdom
5 Posts
 Posted 10/13/2019  08:19 am Show Profile   Bookmark this topic Add martinius27th to your friends list Get a Link to this Message
Hi - I'm a total novice so please bear with me. This (what I believe to be a) gold Histamenon has caught my eye. Based on the design I'm pretty sure it's Michael IV the Paphlagonian - as on all comparable Histamenons & Hyperpyrons the figure on the obverse has his right hand (with labarum) lowered rather than raised. Certainly the die is a close match to the coin pictured on Michael's wiki page: https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Micha...Paphlagonian

However, I haven't been able to find any perfect die matches for either genuine or fake Histamenons (including after scrolling through the Forvm Fakes Database). And because I'm a novice I really haven't a clue if it's real, beyond obviously recognising that the design is quite highly detailed.

Can anyone lend some wisdom? Real or fake?

Edited by martinius27th
10/13/2019 09:24 am
Bedrock of the Community
United States
30024 Posts
 Posted 10/13/2019  09:46 am  Show Profile   Bookmark this reply Add John1 to your friends list Get a Link to this Reply
to CCF. Do you have the coin in hand? If so,weight? diameter? thickness?
John1
( I'm no pro, it's just my humble opinion )
Searched 5+ Million Cents Since 1971
United Kingdom
5 Posts
 Posted 10/13/2019  10:30 am  Show Profile   Bookmark this reply Add martinius27th to your friends list Get a Link to this Reply