Coin Community Family of Web Sites
Like us on Facebook! Subscribe to our Youtube Channel! Check out our Twitter! Check out our Pinterest!
Username:
Password:
Save Password
Forgot your Password?

Welcome Guest! Need help? Got a question? Inherit some coins?
Our coin forum is completely free! Register Now!

What To Do With Damaged Lincoln 1914-D And 1931-S?

To participate in the forum you must log in or register.
Author Previous Topic Topic Next Topic  
United States
4 Posts
 Posted 12/07/2019  1:00 pm Show Profile   Bookmark this topic Add wmjanv to your friends list Get a Link to this Message
Novice here - I've been sorting through a large set of Lincoln cents my grandfather collected. I found these two coins in a cup along with some other heavily circulated pre-1930 Lincoln cents. I realize they have little value in this condition but I want to keep them as part of completing a set, my question is what if anything should I do before putting them in a flip? I have done acetone and/or distilled water rinses in some cases but wasn't sure what the best approach is here. Thanks in advance.

Valued Member
United States
231 Posts
 Posted 12/07/2019  2:09 pm  Show Profile   Bookmark this reply Add Giwalsh to your friends list Get a Link to this Reply
I'd try Verdi Care,that 31 S isn't that bad.
Bedrock of the Community
Learn More...
United States
12410 Posts
 Posted 12/07/2019  2:16 pm  Show Profile   Bookmark this reply Add T-BOP to your friends list Get a Link to this Reply
There's really nothing you can do to save these coins . The 14-D is toast ,the 31-S has corrosion spots and some other damage . When a copper coin starts corroding as badly as your 31-S , it's a goner .
Proud Member of The Black Sheep Squadron !
Bedrock of the Community
Learn More...
United States
43874 Posts
 Posted 12/07/2019  3:37 pm  Show Profile   Bookmark this reply Add Coinfrog to your friends list Get a Link to this Reply
Agree that Verdi-Care will likely improve the '31-S.

to the CCF!