Coin Community Family of Web Sites
Like us on Facebook! Subscribe to our Youtube Channel! Check out our Twitter! Check out our Pinterest!
Username:
Password:
Save Password
Forgot your Password?

Welcome Guest! Need help? Got a question? Inherit some coins?
Our coin forum is completely free! Register Now!

What Is This Error? 1984 Penny

To participate in the forum you must log in or register.
Author Previous Topic Topic Next Topic  

United States
4 Posts
 Posted 01/12/2020  10:34 pm Show Profile   Bookmark this topic Add nick271717 to your friends list Get a Link to this Message
Hello I noticed this error on a 1984 penny while coin roll hunting. It may look like a scratch but it is actually a raised line on the penny. I am new to this an am not sure what the error is or what it might be called. Any thoughts? Thank-you!
Pillar of the Community
United States
3269 Posts
 Posted 01/12/2020  10:46 pm  Show Profile   Bookmark this reply Add murrellington to your friends list Get a Link to this Reply
That's a die crack. The mint uses dies that stamp down on a blank planchet. If the die is cracked then it will result in this type of error leaving a raised line where the crack prevented the coin impression.
Pillar of the Community
United States
2437 Posts
 Posted 01/12/2020  11:46 pm  Show Profile   Bookmark this reply Add Greasy Fingers to your friends list Get a Link to this Reply
I'm thinking a plating blister, see if you can depress it with a toothpick

Edited: to CCF....good luck on future finds
Edited by Greasy Fingers
01/12/2020 11:47 pm
United States
4 Posts
 Posted 01/12/2020  11:53 pm  Show Profile   Bookmark this reply Add MrDusty to your friends list Get a Link to this Reply