Coin Community Family of Web Sites
Like us on Facebook! Subscribe to our Youtube Channel! Check out our Twitter! Check out our Pinterest!
Username:
Password:
Save Password
Forgot your Password?

Welcome Guest! Need help? Got a question? Inherit some coins?
Our coin forum is completely free! Register Now!

US Mint Damaged Coins/Medals

To participate in the forum you must log in or register.
Author Previous TopicReplies: 7 / Views: 406Next Topic  

United States
5 Posts
 Posted 05/26/2020  5:08 pm Show Profile   Bookmark this topic Add kenrus to your friends list Get a Link to this Message
I am very new to collecting and I am learning a lot.

However, I have recently ordered a couple of the presidential silver medals from the US Mint (Washington and Adams). The Washington one came in with a couple of spots on his face that were shiny, but the rest of his face is a matte finish. The John Adams came in with what looks like ink marks on the reverse.

Since these are in sealed containers I was surprised that they had any marks or imperfections. I kept the Washington one, but the John Adams one I am returning.

Is this rare from the Mint or is it not uncommon to get coins and medals with marks on them?

I also ordered a proof coin from the Perth Mint and I really like how they packaged it (The display case with magnets to hold the plexiglass top) and the coin arrived in great condition (at least as far as I can tell with my trusty magnifying glass :) )

Thanks!
Ken
Bedrock of the Community
United States
34203 Posts
 Posted 05/26/2020  7:38 pm  Show Profile   Bookmark this reply Add John1 to your friends list Get a Link to this Reply
to CCF. We will need photos to help you.
John1
( I'm no pro, it's just my humble opinion )
Searched 5+ Million Cents Since 1971
United States
5 Posts
 Posted 05/26/2020  8:00 pm  Show Profile   Bookmark this reply Add kenrus to your friends list Get a Link to this Reply