Coin Community Family of Web Sites
Like us on Facebook! Subscribe to our Youtube Channel! Check out our Twitter! Check out our Pinterest!
Username:
Password:
Save Password
Forgot your Password?

Welcome Guest! Need help? Got a question? Inherit some coins?
Our coin forum is completely free! Register Now!

Show Me Your Civic Coppers

Next Page | Last 15 Replies

To participate in the forum you must log in or register.
Author Previous TopicReplies: 19 / Views: 686Next Topic
Page: of 2
Pillar of the Community
Luxembourg
554 Posts
 Posted 06/06/2020  08:05 am Show Profile   Bookmark this topic Add maudry to your friends list Get a Link to this Message
Hi,
I have been hunting actively for these coins for a couple of years now.
"Civic Coppers" is the name commonly used for anonymous copper coins struck for a local market in Persia during more or less 18th and 19th century.
They don't bear any rulers name but generally on one side the name on the city where it has been minted and on the other side a figurative design.
Here are some of my favorites.

Rabbit with fishes, minted in Rasht. Year as edge inscription:

Double headed eagle, inspired by the Russian eagle, minted in Teheran:

Another double headed eagle, minted in Mazandaran:

Sunface, minted in Herat:

Boat, minted in Bushire:

Pillar of the Community
Learn More...
United States
3525 Posts
 Posted 06/06/2020  08:24 am  Show Profile   Bookmark this reply Add tdziemia to your friends list Get a Link to this Reply

Very nice series! The rabbit & fishes I find especially attractive.
Pillar of the Community
United Kingdom
2381 Posts
 Posted 06/06/2020  11:06 am  Show Profile   Bookmark this reply Add Bacchus2 to your friends list Get a Link to this Reply
Those are nice examples. I'll also pick these up when I can though they can be surprisingly pricey.
Pillar of the Community
Luxembourg
554 Posts
 Posted 06/06/2020  5:45 pm  Show Profile   Bookmark this reply Add maudry to your friends list Get a Link to this Reply