Coin Community Family of Web Sites
Like us on Facebook! Subscribe to our Youtube Channel! Check out our Twitter! Check out our Pinterest!
Username:
Password:
Save Password
Forgot your Password?

Welcome Guest! Need help? Got a question? Inherit some coins?
Our coin forum is completely free! Register Now!

Coin Storage Questions

To participate in the forum you must log in or register.
Author Replies: 14 / Views: 504Next Topic  
Valued Member

Australia
113 Posts
 Posted 07/08/2020  6:36 pm Show Profile   Bookmark this topic Add David Graham to your friends list Get a Link to this Message
As a noob I've made a few mistakes with coin storage that I want to correct. To date I've been buying bulk quantities of coins, sorting and storing the ones I want to keep (after entering in Numista) in plastic coin sheets. As I find a better grade of coin I replace the existing coin in the wallet. My favourite plastic coin sheets turned out to be the dreaded PVC. I found that the stiff coin folders (which I hate) are difficult to use and I have already thrown several in the bin as they cracked and split however apparently these are better as they don't leach chlorine. I'm not too fussed for the moment as the PVC sheets are relatively cheap and have allowed me to start sorting a rapidly expanding collection however I know I will need to store the coins in an alternate manner over the next 6-12 months. So the questions:
A) I am concerned about space in the house. Plastic coin sheets take up minimal space however the Mylar flips seem quite bulky. Is there another alternative? Am also concerned at the price of the flips. Fine for a $20-1000 coin but for 1000s of coins that may be around 10c each? The flips will cost more than the coins.