Coin Community Family of Web Sites
Like us on Facebook! Subscribe to our Youtube Channel! Check out our Twitter! Check out our Pinterest!
Username:
Password:
Save Password
Forgot your Password?

Welcome Guest! Need help? Got a question? Inherit some coins?
Our coin forum is completely free! Register Now!

Question On Importing Canadian Coins From The US

To participate in the forum you must log in or register.
Author Previous TopicReplies: 7 / Views: 467Next Topic  
Canada
2 Posts
 Posted 07/16/2020  1:13 pm Show Profile   Bookmark this topic Add Mikefromcanmore5 to your friends list Get a Link to this Message
Hi everyone,

I am new to the Canadian coin forum, and have enjoyed reading all the excellent posts and answers from the members here.

I do have a question. I recently purchased some Canadian coins from Heritage Auctions (HA). I had heard that you can possibly save some import fees if you mention to your broker that the coins were made in Canada. I was wondering if any of you had experience in this area, and if you can let me know your experiences. I am not sure if getting HA to write a letter that the goods were made or manufactured in Canada makes any difference, or if there is a process with Canada customs, or the customs broker to address this later and get reimbursed the import fees from the US?

Thanks so much.
Pillar of the Community
Canada
4557 Posts
 Posted 07/16/2020  1:43 pm  Show Profile   Bookmark this reply Add john100 to your friends list Get a Link to this Reply
You are out of luck, Heritage only use Fedex or UPS to Canada, stuck with broker and HST fees, no duty on coins
Pillar of the Community
Canada
1043 Posts
 Posted 07/16/2020  7:56 pm  Show Profile   Bookmark this reply Add purelywasted to your friends list Get a Link to this Reply