Coin Community Family of Web Sites
Like us on Facebook! Subscribe to our Youtube Channel! Check out our Twitter! Check out our Pinterest!
Username:
Password:
Save Password
Forgot your Password?

Welcome Guest! Need help? Got a question? Inherit some coins?
Our coin forum is completely free! Register Now!

A Few Questions On How To Start Coin Roll Hunting

Next Page | Last 15 Replies

To participate in the forum you must log in or register.
Author Previous TopicReplies: 27 / Views: 1,192Next Topic
Page: of 2
United States
23 Posts
 Posted 10/21/2020  12:51 pm Show Profile   Bookmark this topic Add BostonCornhusker to your friends list Get a Link to this Message
Hey everyone,

So, I'm just going to lay this bare. I'm new to the hobby, and new to a forum environment in general (so, I apologize for any missteps). I just had a few questions on how to start coin roll hunting. I've done some reading and watched some videos, but I was hoping for a little more direct help and answers to a few questions.

1) I understand I should never return bulk coins to the bank I ordered from. It's not only inconvenient for the bank, but costs them money in shipping. I may also find I'm researching previous rolls. However, is it possible to order from one branch, and return to another branch 30min away? (I have a work commute that would lend itself to this.)

2) In these times of coin shortages, how do you convince a bank to order a box of halves for you? I've asked multiple banks, and it seems that I'm just spinning my wheels.

3) How do you cultivate the type of relationship with the bank to where they're more willing to assist you with your hobby? (i.e. ordering boxes in times of shortages, ordering more than 1 box at a time)

4) What are the typical surcharges for ordering boxes, if any? I've read that some banks order free-of-charge for bank patrons, but others may charge a fee for the service.