Coin Community Family of Web Sites
Like us on Facebook! Subscribe to our Youtube Channel! Check out our Twitter! Check out our Pinterest!
Username:
Password:
Save Password
Forgot your Password?

Welcome Guest! Need help? Got a question? Inherit some coins?
Our coin forum is completely free! Register Now!

Help With 1980 P Roosevelt Dime Clad Layers Missing?

To participate in the forum you must log in or register.
Author Previous TopicReplies: 4 / Views: 207Next Topic  

United States
2 Posts
 Posted 03/02/2021  2:17 pm Show Profile   Bookmark this topic Add Gdivi01 to your friends list Get a Link to this Message
I'm new to coin collecting/searching and I could use some help(in more ways than just this post). I found this 1980P Dime that definitely caught my eye as "different". I'm color blind so I'm not quite sure if this is missing one or both clad layers. It weighs 2.2g. It also looks like there some doubling. I still am having trouble distinguishing between Machine Doubling and hub doubling. Any insight would really be appreciated...

Pillar of the Community
Learn More...
United States
2829 Posts
 Posted 03/02/2021  5:09 pm  Show Profile   Check Yokozuna's eBay Listings Bookmark this reply Add Yokozuna to your friends list Get a Link to this Reply
to the CCF!

Does the edge show the same color or can you see a darker copper core? The color in you images seems to change from picture to picture, so I can't say for sure. Most coins that have a clad layer missing are underweight and lack some detail, but it is possible.
"Shine, shine a Roosevelt dime. All the way to Baltimore and runnin' out of time." Tom Waits-Clap Hands

United States
2 Posts
 Posted 03/03/2021  05:48 am  Show Profile   Bookmark this reply Add Gdivi01 to your friends list Get a Link to this Reply
So I'mástill trying to figure out a proper setup for consistent lighting/picture taking...not sure the best way of taking a picture of the ridge but here's what I came away with...