Coin Community Family of Web Sites
Like us on Facebook! Subscribe to our Youtube Channel! Check out our Twitter! Check out our Pinterest!
Username:
Password:
Save Password
Forgot your Password?

Welcome Guest! Need help? Got a question? Inherit some coins?
Our coin forum is completely free! Register Now!

Series 1935A Silver Certificates With R And S Special Markings

To participate in the forum you must log in or register.
Author Previous TopicReplies: 11 / Views: 503Next Topic  
Valued Member
United Kingdom
150 Posts
 Posted 11/07/2021  4:25 pm Show Profile   Bookmark this topic Add Orac to your friends list Get a Link to this Message
Hi all. Newbie here.

I am doing a little research on a related topic, and I wonder if anyone knows the answers to a couple of questions I have regarding the 1935A silver Certificates with special markings R and S.

Letters R or S in red, were used as overprints on some US $1 Silver Certificates of Series 1935A to identify, it is said, printing on regular paper, marked R; and to test an alternative paper stock, marked S for Special paper.
Is this the correct meaning of the letters R and S?

My understanding is that these notes were conceived in early 1944, and delivered on 20 June 1944. Is this correct, and is it recorded on what exact date the notes were conceived?

Also, is it known when the notes actually first entered circulation? I have not been able to find any reference to this.

Any insights would be most welcome.
I have searched extensively on this, and the above is what I have learned about the note issues.
Bedrock of the Community
Learn More...
United States
67595 Posts
 Posted 11/07/2021  4:36 pm  Show Profile   Bookmark this reply Add Coinfrog to your friends list Get a Link to this Reply
Your information is exactly what I have read. As I understand it, no conclusive results were reached from the experiment, at least as far as we know (Schwartz and Lindquist, US Small Size Paper Money).
Edited by Coinfrog