Coin Community Family of Web Sites
Like us on Facebook! Subscribe to our Youtube Channel! Check out our Twitter! Check out our Pinterest!
Username:
Password:
Save Password
Forgot your Password?

Welcome Guest! Need help? Got a question? Inherit some coins?
Our coin forum is completely free! Register Now!

1997 Close AM Penny?

To participate in the forum you must log in or register.
Author Previous TopicReplies: 11 / Views: 299Next Topic  

United States
7 Posts
 Posted 09/20/2022  05:23 am Show Profile   Bookmark this topic Add flatwater to your friends list Get a Link to this Message
I bought a coin microscope and the closeness of the AM is readily apparent in the images. Unfortunately, the resolution is too high for me to post. Hoping someone can give me an opinion on these. I am not tech savvy, so keep in mind I did the best I could. Hope this works.

Pillar of the Community
Learn More...
United States
8048 Posts
 Posted 09/20/2022  05:44 am  Show Profile   Bookmark this reply Add nickelsearcher to your friends list Get a Link to this Reply
to the CCF

Yes - that is a Close AM ( CAM), which is the expected normal reverse for this year in circulation strike cents. It joins 4.6 Billion others that were minted that year.

The WAM variety you are searching for in circulation strike cents occurs in 1998, 1999 and 2000 dated Philadelphia mint cents. Keep looking.

edit to correct the variety designation
Take a look at my other hobby ... http://www.jk-dk.art
Too many hobbies .... too much work .... not enough time.
Edited by nickelsearcher
09/21/2022 05:27 am
United States
7 Posts
 Posted 09/20/2022  05:54 am  Show Profile   Bookmark this reply Add flatwater to your friends list Get a Link to this Reply
Thought I did the exact same thing for each photograph. Naturally, I screwed it up. Unbelievable.
United States
7 Posts
 Posted 09/20/2022  06:00 am  Show Profile   Bookmark this reply Add flatwater to your friends list Get a Link to this Reply
nickelsearcher,