Coin Community Family of Web Sites
Like us on Facebook! Subscribe to our Youtube Channel! Check out our Twitter! Check out our Pinterest!
Username:
Password:
Save Password
Forgot your Password?

Welcome Guest! Need help? Got a question? Inherit some coins?
Our coin forum is completely free! Register Now!

Puzzled By 1982 And 1983 20 P Coins

To participate in the forum you must log in or register.
Author Previous TopicReplies: 5 / Views: 217Next Topic  
United Kingdom
31 Posts
 Posted 11/22/2022  12:51 pm Show Profile   Bookmark this topic Add mrmarktigger to your friends list Get a Link to this Message
Here goes with a complete novice question that might make me sound foolish! haha - Forgive me for asking but I'm totally puzzled by the large numbers of people trying to sell or auction 1982 20p circulated coins (and some 1983) for £100 GBP or more on the UK ebay site. They are listed as Rare or Very Rare in the title and description. Am I missing something? I would of thought there's millions of 'm' in circulation, even now. I have one in my pocket.
Bedrock of the Community
United Kingdom
11303 Posts
 Posted 11/22/2022  1:49 pm  Show Profile   Check NumisRob's eBay Listings Bookmark this reply Add NumisRob to your friends list Get a Link to this Reply
There are ridiculous chancers trying to sell all sorts of really common current GB coins on eBay. If you look at 'Sold Items' you'll see that few if any of these coins actually sell, and when they do, it usually says 'Best Offer Accepted'. Some of these may be attempts at money laundering or are new e-Bayers trying to boost their feedback score by listing a valueless coin and getting friends to bid on it, with no money actually changing hands. The 1982 and 1983 20p coins, as you say, are very common and worth only face value in circulated condition. Indeed, 1982 is still the commonest date of 20p coin in circulation.

We sometimes have fun posting links to ridiculously overpriced common coins on eBay in this thread: