Coin Community Family of Web Sites
Like us on Facebook! Subscribe to our Youtube Channel! Check out our Twitter! Check out our Pinterest!
Username:
Password:
Save Password
Forgot your Password?

Welcome Guest! Need help? Got a question? Inherit some coins?
Our coin forum is completely free! Register Now!

Novice Buyer..needs Help Identifying Coins

To participate in the forum you must log in or register.
Author Previous Topic Topic Next Topic  
United Kingdom
12 Posts
 Posted 12/31/2012  1:03 pm Show Profile   Bookmark this topic Add Normanity to your friends list Get a Link to this Message
Im a novice and don't know where to start. They are on ebay so I cant get any diff pics.

Pillar of the Community
United Kingdom
2357 Posts
 Posted 12/31/2012  1:36 pm  Show Profile   Bookmark this reply Add Bacchus2 to your friends list Get a Link to this Reply
The French 5 Francs - bottom right looks distinctly odd.

To be honest if you don't know what you are doing and can't be reasonably sure what you are buying is legitimate and reasonably priced, Ebay is the place to be badly burned. Yes there are some bargains (not that many) but there are a lot of problems there too. Local coin shows are a better place to find your feet in coin collecting. Sure there will be guys there who will happily overcharge you but if you are in a local coin club and you examine dealers wares in partnerships you'll be fine.
Pillar of the Community
United Kingdom
736 Posts
 Posted 12/31/2012  2:32 pm  Show Profile   Bookmark this reply Add rooneydog to your friends list Get a Link to this Reply
Hi Normanity,

Judging by some of the other items sold by al****1 over the last couple of days, unless you are prepared to accept you may receive 6 copies (fakes, tokens, whatever) I would probably not bother. The Peace dollar, Trade dollar and mexico 8 Reales also on offer cannot surely be real but saying that I expect the Australian Crown is but I am no expert?