Coin Community Family of Web Sites
Like us on Facebook! Subscribe to our Youtube Channel! Check out our Twitter! Check out our Pinterest!
Username:
Password:
Save Password
Forgot your Password?

Welcome Guest! Need help? Got a question? Inherit some coins?
Our coin forum is completely free! Register Now!

Blank Planchet Type 1 Quarter Or Just A Slug

To participate in the forum you must log in or register.
Author Previous Topic Topic Next Topic  
Pillar of the Community
United States
1192 Posts
 Posted 01/14/2015  4:12 pm Show Profile   Bookmark this topic Add Bertensgrad to your friends list Get a Link to this Message
I'm pretty new to blank planchet error coins, all I have had up to now is one type 2 cent planchet.

My mom had a kid gave her what looked like a blank quarter at the school cafeteria and she bought it home to me to see if I wanted it. I'm pretty sure it's a type 1 blank planchet but I wanted to be sure given the circumstances of how it was found. Is this a real planchet or just a slug?

It's the exact size of a quarter but I can't weigh it. It's non-magnetic. Edges are smooth. Around the edges the metal is smoother with out the imperfections, not sure if it's just from where it was cut or where it had rims but got worn down. Almost has a polished feel about it.

The kid also gave her one 1960 Franc, 25 cents from Barbados, and a 1942 canadian nickel, so it's possible he raided somebodies dresser for lunch money that day. My mom felt bad for him and accepted it as .80 cents and instantly swapped her own money out for it so the til would come out even. My favorite is when the teachers can't get older quarters to work at the coke machine haha. I've gotten 6 silver quarters since Christmas from that.

Edited by Bertensgrad
01/14/2015 4:58 pm
Bedrock of the Community
Learn More...
United States
35683 Posts
 Posted 01/14/2015  5:15 pm  Show Profile   Bookmark this reply Add coop to your friends list Get a Link to this Reply