Coin Community Family of Web Sites
Like us on Facebook! Subscribe to our Youtube Channel! Check out our Twitter! Check out our Pinterest!
Username:
Password:
Save Password
Forgot your Password?

Welcome Guest! Need help? Got a question? Inherit some coins?
Our coin forum is completely free! Register Now!

1859 Penny Variety ID Help?

To participate in the forum you must log in or register.
Author Previous Topic Topic Next Topic  
United States
13 Posts
 Posted 08/03/2016  04:30 am Show Profile   Bookmark this topic Add sabotai to your friends list Get a Link to this Message
I have a few 1859 pennies that I could use your thoughts on. I thought coin C might have a double punched 5. I might see low 9s on coins A and B. What do you think? I'm still very new to all this, so your help is much appreciated! Grading thoughts are also welcome

Coin A

Coin B

Coin C

Pillar of the Community
United States
1535 Posts
 Posted 08/03/2016  09:45 am  Show Profile   Bookmark this reply Add Biedercoins to your friends list Get a Link to this Reply
What's the deal with all these 1859 pennies? I mean, I know the mintage was Yuuuuge, but it seems every Canada lg cent posted is from 1859 (that's why I have one). But seriously, what was the next date struck?

Sorry I can't answer your question & for going off topic on this but I am really curious!
- About two score and seven+ years ago, I began a Lincoln cent collection. I have all, most in AU or better & am upgrading to MS as possible.
- I collect all coins minted 1809, 1859, 1909, 1959, and 2009. Lincoln and C.Darwin were both born in 1809. The latter published his "On the Origin of Species.." in 1859, the Lincoln cent debuted in 1909, and after that it just seemed like a good way to show the evolution of US coinage. Most non-nums to whom I've shown these react with the phrase, "I had no idea!" That alone shows their worth.