Coin Community Family of Web Sites
Like us on Facebook! Subscribe to our Youtube Channel! Check out our Twitter! Check out our Pinterest!
Username:
Password:
Save Password
Forgot your Password?

Welcome Guest! Need help? Got a question? Inherit some coins?
Our coin forum is completely free! Register Now!

2016 P No Eyes Nickel

To participate in the forum you must log in or register.
Author Previous Topic Topic Next Topic  
United States
5 Posts
 Posted 09/19/2017  11:40 am Show Profile   Bookmark this topic Add CoinFan2017 to your friends list Get a Link to this Message
Hello. I am hoping someone can help here. I have come across a 2016P Jefferson nickel that has a very weak left eye (right side when looking at the coin) and no right eye at all. The socket is there, just not the eyeball. The rest of the coin appears normal (see attached) I am still quite new to collecting so my question is this... Is a weak strike considered an error just as a double die or something similar would be?
Bedrock of the Community
United States
30024 Posts
 Posted 09/19/2017  12:27 pm  Show Profile   Bookmark this reply Add John1 to your friends list Get a Link to this Reply
to CCF. Can you crop and repost pic? Looks like maybe a grease filled die or over polished die.Need a close up.
John1
( I'm no pro, it's just my humble opinion )
Searched 5+ Million Cents Since 1971
Pillar of the Community
United States
1386 Posts
 Posted 09/19/2017  12:35 pm  Show Profile   Bookmark this reply Add Newbie234 to your friends list Get a Link to this Reply
It might be a polished die from a die clash. But I can't really see what's happening until we get a closer look.
Bedrock of the Community
Learn More...
United States
24635 Posts
 Posted 09/19/2017  12:46 pm  Show Profile   Check Errers and Varietys's eBay Listings Bookmark this reply Add Errers and Varietys to your friends list Get a Link to this Reply
with what Newbie said, but need better pictures and the pictures also need to be cropped.