Coin Community Family of Web Sites
Like us on Facebook! Subscribe to our Youtube Channel! Check out our Twitter! Check out our Pinterest!
Username:
Password:
Save Password
Forgot your Password?

Welcome Guest! Need help? Got a question? Inherit some coins?
Our coin forum is completely free! Register Now!

Need Help With Medieval Austria Coins Authenticate

To participate in the forum you must log in or register.
Author Previous TopicReplies: 5 / Views: 654Next Topic  

United States
12 Posts
 Posted 01/31/2018  1:23 pm Show Profile   Bookmark this topic Add kyp1891 to your friends list Get a Link to this Message
Anybody knows if these 3 coins genuine ? I am new to the coin collecting. the weight of each is around 1.60 gram. Since it's too thin and light, and doesn't know about its fineness, can't perform the ping test. The dropping sound on floor sounds like silver, I don't know if SG test works for this lightweight coins, but SG comes out around 8.90. The coins detail look OK to me, but not quite sure.
I know these coins are not worth a lot, but any chance that it is counterfeited ?
Thanks for helping me out

Pillar of the Community
United States
624 Posts
 Posted 01/31/2018  8:44 pm  Show Profile   Bookmark this reply Add Mayflower2020 to your friends list Get a Link to this Reply
Welcome to the forum! I am not an expert on this specific coin, but they look similar in texture and color to a few small (dime sized) silver coins I have from the same time period. But to answer your question, there is always a chance that anything can be counterfeited. If someone is willing to fake US nickels then anything is possible. I wouldn't be surprised if they were real but I am sure someone more familiar with them will chime in.
Valued Member
United States
178 Posts
 Posted 02/01/2018  07:34 am  Show Profile   Bookmark this reply Add bjherbison to your friends list Get a Link to this Reply
From the mint marks these appear to be for Silesia.

Upper left: KM 471