Coin Community Family of Web Sites
Like us on Facebook! Subscribe to our Youtube Channel! Check out our Twitter! Check out our Pinterest!
Username:
Password:
Save Password
Forgot your Password?

Welcome Guest! Need help? Got a question? Inherit some coins?
Our coin forum is completely free! Register Now!

Morgans and Peace Dollar Scratches a Deal Breaker?

To participate in the forum you must log in or register.
Author Previous Topic Topic Next Topic  
United States
2 Posts
 Posted 07/06/2018  3:09 pm Show Profile   Bookmark this topic Add frest to your friends list Get a Link to this Message
I'm brand new to coin collecting, so I apologize in advance for the lack of basic knowledge. I inherited a sizable coin collection from my grandfather and have been sifting through everything over the past few days. One common factor among many of these coins are scratch marks on otherwise detailed coins. Here's a sampling of a few Morgans and a Peace dollar I picked out of the pile.

Top Left: 1890 CC. From what I can tell this is a somewhat rare coin, but there are two noticeable marks along the neck. The back has a small discolored area along the top.

Top Center: 1921 D. There's some discoloration throughout.

Top Right: 1883 S. Even though the quality of detail is quite high, this seems like it should be thrown out because of the purposeful marking all the way around the edges.

Bottom Left: 1900 O. Front has some minor scratching. Back has discoloration and dings along the edge.

Bottom Right: 1926 S. This one seems to be uncirculated with a brilliant sheen. There is a tiny scratch directly above the upper lip and some faint scuff marks. On the back, the eagle head is discolored.

Let me know if I need to post a bigger image of any particular coin. Overall, I'm wanting to know which, if any, of these types of defects would significantly decrease the value and which ones I should be more forgiving of. Would any of these be worth keeping around? Thanks in advance!