Coin Community Family of Web Sites
Like us on Facebook! Subscribe to our Youtube Channel! Check out our Twitter! Check out our Pinterest!
Username:
Password:
Save Password
Forgot your Password?

Welcome Guest! Need help? Got a question? Inherit some coins?
Our coin forum is completely free! Register Now!

Solved: Anonymous Umayyad Fals W/ Pentagram. Ca. 760 Ad

To participate in the forum you must log in or register.
Author Previous Topic Topic Next Topic  
Valued Member
Netherlands
100 Posts
 Posted 01/04/2019  2:34 pm Show Profile   Bookmark this topic Add MetzKaj to your friends list Get a Link to this Message
Hi all,

This coin is part of a set I bought from a seller who claimed the coins were from the al-Andalus (Spain) period. I have some doubts about the seller's explanation as three eroded Roman coins were initially part of the set. As I just started to collect these kind of coins I have zero experience and knowledge about date/origin. The only thing I do know about this islamic coin is that it has the Star of David (EDIT: Pentagram) on it.

Is there anyone out here who can help me with ID'ing this coin?

Thanks in advance,

Kaj
Edited by MetzKaj
01/05/2019 10:31 am
Valued Member
Spain
81 Posts
 Posted 01/04/2019  2:40 pm  Show Profile   Bookmark this reply Add txabs to your friends list Get a Link to this Reply
There is a lot of Al-Andalus islamic bronze coins with the Star of David. They are called felus (in Spanish, I don't know English translation)

I don't know much about this period, but maybe you can start searching with that

Regards
Valued Member
Netherlands
100 Posts
 Posted 01/04/2019  2:43 pm  Show Profile   Bookmark this reply Add MetzKaj to your friends list Get a Link to this Reply
Thanks txabs! I will. I had no idea that such coins existed until today.
CCF Advertiser
Learn More...
United States
391 Posts