Coin Community Family of Web Sites
Like us on Facebook! Subscribe to our Youtube Channel! Check out our Twitter! Check out our Pinterest!
Username:
Password:
Save Password
Forgot your Password?

Welcome Guest! Need help? Got a question? Inherit some coins?
Our coin forum is completely free! Register Now!

Star Notes Less Rare Than I Thought?

To participate in the forum you must log in or register.
Author Previous Topic Topic Next Topic  
Valued Member
United States
147 Posts
 Posted 04/24/2019  3:45 pm Show Profile   Bookmark this topic Add 1962penny to your friends list Get a Link to this Message
I work as a cashier here in Montana and its been fun seeing a lot of old coins come through (even got some silver certificates come through!). I always put my own money in the till to take whatever interesting comes through. I have been swapping out one dollar bills with any $1 star notes that come through. Is this worth doing? I dont want to waste all my cash if this is not worth it. I understand that the rarity/value depends on the size of the run and the serial numbers. All my star notes are 2009 and 2013, from moderately-common to common runs. Is it even worth pulling these guys out to save them?
Thanks for the help!

(I am not new here, but my account got reset haha)
Pillar of the Community
United States
2202 Posts
 Posted 04/24/2019  4:02 pm  Show Profile   Bookmark this reply Add SteveInTampa to your friends list Get a Link to this Reply
You have to evaluate them on an individual basis. That's all part of the hobby.

You have to kiss a lot of frogs to meet your prince.
Valued Member
United States
394 Posts
 Posted 04/24/2019  4:29 pm  Show Profile   Bookmark this reply Add nick10 to your friends list Get a Link to this Reply
condition is important too, a modern star note that is wrinkled, stained, and written upon is unlikely to be worth more than face value
Bedrock of the Community
Learn More...
United States
39116 Posts