Coin Community Family of Web Sites
Like us on Facebook! Subscribe to our Youtube Channel! Check out our Twitter! Check out our Pinterest!
Username:
Password:
Save Password
Forgot your Password?

Welcome Guest! Need help? Got a question? Inherit some coins?
Our coin forum is completely free! Register Now!

1944 D Wheat Penny, With Stripes On Back Side

Next Page

To participate in the forum you must log in or register.
Author Previous Topic Topic Next Topic
Page: of 2

United States
22 Posts
 Posted 06/02/2019  10:16 am Show Profile   Bookmark this topic Add Thesepennysgood to your friends list Get a Link to this Message

I don't know if the picture shows the stripes very well, but they are very prominent on tge coin. Does that have an effect on the value?
Bedrock of the Community
United States
29986 Posts
 Posted 06/02/2019  10:51 am  Show Profile   Bookmark this reply Add John1 to your friends list Get a Link to this Reply
Just some kind of toning.
John1
( I'm no pro, it's just my humble opinion )
Searched 5+ Million Cents Since 1971
Bedrock of the Community
Learn More...
United States
11861 Posts
 Posted 06/02/2019  10:57 am  Show Profile   Bookmark this reply Add T-BOP to your friends list Get a Link to this Reply
When you mentioned stripes I figured ok ,another Woodie.
But I agree just a toning characteristic .
Proud Member of The Black Sheep Squadron !
United States
22 Posts
 Posted 06/02/2019  11:22 am  Show Profile   Bookmark this reply Add Thesepennysgood to your friends list Get a Link to this Reply
The "stripes" have very strong lines between them, I read up about coins that possibly hadn't had the mixture of the alloy not be uniform before coating the planchet, and that could be the possible reason for the lack of uniformity in the coat on the planchet?
United States
22 Posts
 Posted 06/02/2019  12:34 pm  Show Profile   Bookmark this reply Add Thesepennysgood to your friends list Get a Link to this Reply

Pillar of the Community
United States
4696 Posts