Coin Community Family of Web Sites
Like us on Facebook! Subscribe to our Youtube Channel! Check out our Twitter! Check out our Pinterest!
Username:
Password:
Save Password
Forgot your Password?

Welcome Guest! Need help? Got a question? Inherit some coins?
Our coin forum is completely free! Register Now!

Foreign Paper Money ?

To participate in the forum you must log in or register.
Author Previous Topic Topic Next Topic  

United States
41 Posts
 Posted 06/16/2019  3:09 pm Show Profile   Bookmark this topic Add Hess4 to your friends list Get a Link to this Message
I was recently given some foreign coins and paper money. I have no clue whatsoever about any of them being I'm a newbie in US coins and I was wondering if y'all could take a look and tell me if any are worth anything?
Thank you for any and all input in advance!
> Tracy

United Kingdom
38 Posts
 Posted 06/16/2019  3:58 pm  Show Profile   Bookmark this reply Add Collector28 to your friends list Get a Link to this Reply
1 - English 5 note, George Stephenson. The chief cashier is Graham Kentfield, who held this post from 1991 to 1998. These can attract some premium, but in this condition that is virtually gone.
2 - Swiss 20 francs, Arthur Honegger. 8th series. First issued in October 1996. Don't think there's much collector value here either unfortunately.
3 - Italian 50000 lire banknote, Gian Lorenzo Bernini. First issued in 1992. Very little value to this one, unfortunately.
4 - Italian 1000 Lire banknote, Maria Montessori. First issued in 1990. Quite worthless too, sadly.

All are obsolete, but I think they can all still be exchanged. The first 2 carry some value in that respect, especially the second. I know you can exchange the British for face value (about $6.30, but when you factor in the cost of getting it to the bank of England probably not worth it). I assume the same is true for Swiss (which would be about $20.02 - fees incurred) but I'm not totally sure.
Edited by Collector28
06/16/2019 4:00 pm