Coin Community Family of Web Sites
Like us on Facebook! Subscribe to our Youtube Channel! Check out our Twitter! Check out our Pinterest!
Username:
Password:
Save Password
Forgot your Password?

Welcome Guest! Need help? Got a question? Inherit some coins?
Our coin forum is completely free! Register Now!

D. G. Regina Inscription

To participate in the forum you must log in or register.
Author Previous Topic Topic Next Topic  

United States
5 Posts
 Posted 07/18/2019  11:30 pm Show Profile   Bookmark this topic Add bordbord to your friends list Get a Link to this Message
I am still learning about Canadian coins. What's the story behind some bullion coins not having the "D.G. Regina" Latin inscription? I learned it means By the Grace of God, Queen but that is all I have been able to find out. I don't know if it's ever omitted on commemorative or circulating coins.
Learn More...
Australia
13169 Posts
 Posted 07/19/2019  06:09 am  Show Profile   Bookmark this reply Add Sap to your friends list Get a Link to this Reply
Canada inherited the use of Latin coinage titles from Britain, where (apart from the brief interregnum of the Commonwealth during the English Civil War) a Latin inscription has always been used for the monarch's titles. Britain and Canada are the only two Commonwealth Realms to persist in this anachronism. I suspect that in Canada's case, Latin remains on the coinage for the same reason it is still occasionally used on Swiss and Belgian coins: in an officially multi-lingual country such as Canada, Latin is a "neutral" language choice. If they got rid of Latin, they'd be legally bound to replace it with both English and French, and on all but the largest coins, that would make her titles too small to read.