Coin Community Family of Web Sites
Like us on Facebook! Subscribe to our Youtube Channel! Check out our Twitter! Check out our Pinterest!
Username:
Password:
Save Password
Forgot your Password?

Welcome Guest! Need help? Got a question? Inherit some coins?
Our coin forum is completely free! Register Now!

Spanish Coin ID Help Needed

To participate in the forum you must log in or register.
Author Previous Topic Topic Next Topic  
Valued Member
United States
175 Posts
 Posted 08/11/2019  10:25 am Show Profile   Bookmark this topic Add Jay1234 to your friends list Get a Link to this Message
I believe this is a Spanish coin but it doesn't seem to match any listings I've seen. It's 28mm and 5.5g.

Pillar of the Community
Learn More...
Spain
1488 Posts
 Posted 08/11/2019  11:37 am  Show Profile   Bookmark this reply Add Palouche to your friends list Get a Link to this Reply
I'm new to medieval Spanish coins but a couple of pointers that might help..
The A mintmark below the castle signifies 'Avila' and was first used on the coins of Sancho IV 1284-1295 and lastly noted on coins of Alfonso (the pretender)1465-1468...
Valued Member
United States
175 Posts
 Posted 08/11/2019  11:39 am  Show Profile   Bookmark this reply Add Jay1234 to your friends list Get a Link to this Reply
Interesting, that would explain why it's not in the standard catalog. Thanks for the tip!
Pillar of the Community
Learn More...
Spain
1488 Posts
 Posted 08/11/2019  12:01 pm  Show Profile   Bookmark this reply Add Palouche to your friends list Get a Link to this Reply
I'd probably start with Ferdinand IV style looks similar...sorry I cant be of more help....But there are experts here who will know...Paul
Valued Member
United States
175 Posts
 Posted 08/11/2019  12:22 pm  Show Profile   Bookmark this reply Add Jay1234 to your friends list Get a Link to this Reply
Every little bit helps!
Valued Member
Spain
89 Posts