Coin Community Family of Web Sites
Like us on Facebook! Subscribe to our Youtube Channel! Check out our Twitter! Check out our Pinterest!
Username:
Password:
Save Password
Forgot your Password?

Welcome Guest! Need help? Got a question? Inherit some coins?
Our coin forum is completely free! Register Now!

2016 P Roosevelt Dime - Dryer Or Hammered Coin?

To participate in the forum you must log in or register.
Author Previous Topic Topic Next Topic  

United States
35 Posts
 Posted 09/17/2019  01:02 am Show Profile   Bookmark this topic Add AliLyn to your friends list Get a Link to this Message
Hello, I was hoping to get an opinion on this dime. Is it a dryer coin or has it been hammered down, or something else? It looks like a DDR on back torch and olive branches but possibly from PMD, or possibly not?
I am new to this, so I apologize if I refer to something incorrect, I have never found a DDR or DDO myself but it appears like one here with the naked eye, but I also read all the 2016 coins were full of errors, in all denominations..so I figured I'd check with the pros regarding the collar before sending closeups.

Thanks in advance,
Ali

United States
35 Posts
 Posted 09/17/2019  01:10 am  Show Profile   Bookmark this reply Add AliLyn to your friends list Get a Link to this Reply
The edge just looks so smooth and clean like a nickel, and not tampered but like I said, I'm a newbie
Pillar of the Community
United States
613 Posts
 Posted 09/17/2019  01:10 am  Show Profile   Bookmark this reply Add Eyes4Error to your friends list Get a Link to this Reply
It look evenly hammered around the edge, removing the reeds and causing the extra wide coin rim...

That's my opinion... but I'd wait for some other feedback ;)
Pillar of the Community
United States
613 Posts
 Posted 09/17/2019  01:13 am  Show Profile   Bookmark this reply Add Eyes4Error to your friends list Get a Link to this Reply