Coin Community Family of Web Sites
Like us on Facebook! Subscribe to our Youtube Channel! Check out our Twitter! Check out our Pinterest!
Username:
Password:
Save Password
Forgot your Password?

Welcome Guest! Need help? Got a question? Inherit some coins?
Our coin forum is completely free! Register Now!

Marius The Usurper New Pick Up...

To participate in the forum you must log in or register.
Author Previous Topic Topic Next Topic  
Pillar of the Community
Learn More...
Spain
1606 Posts
 Posted 11/13/2019  6:21 pm Show Profile   Bookmark this topic Add Palouche to your friends list Get a Link to this Message
Here's a coin I didnt think I'd be picking up this side of Christmas....Thanks Finn235!
Marcus Aurelius Marius...
Supposedly a Black smith by trade who joined the Roman army eventually achieving officer status. After the murder of the Emperor Postumus at Moguntiacum the army declared him the new Emperor...He quickly moved the army to Trier where he was eventually killed by Postumus' Praetorian Prefect Victorinus in 269AD after only 2-3 months of reign...
MARIUS. Romano-Gallic Emperor, 269 AD.
IMP CM AVR MARIVS AVG, radiate, draped and cuirassed bust right.
VICTORIA AVG, Victory standing left, holding wreath and palm.
RIC#17...Mint Trier?
The coin has lovely detail in hand

I'd Love to see some 'Usurper' coins.......Paul
Pillar of the Community
United States
562 Posts
 Posted 11/13/2019  6:36 pm  Show Profile   Bookmark this reply Add travelcoin to your friends list Get a Link to this Reply
Very nice indeed, great detail on one of the more rarer Gallic Emperors. Finn always comes through when in need.
Edited by travelcoin
11/13/2019 6:38 pm
Learn More...
United States
22671 Posts
 Posted 11/13/2019  10:34 pm  Show Profile   Check echizento's eBay Listings Bookmark this reply Add echizento to your friends list Get a Link to this Reply
Very nice pickup Paul.
Bedrock of the Community
Australia
16114 Posts