Coin Community Family of Web Sites
Like us on Facebook! Subscribe to our Youtube Channel! Check out our Twitter! Check out our Pinterest!
Username:
Password:
Save Password
Forgot your Password?

Welcome Guest! Need help? Got a question? Inherit some coins?
Our coin forum is completely free! Register Now!

Is This Fake Or Real?

To participate in the forum you must log in or register.
Author Previous TopicReplies: 6 / Views: 658Next Topic  

Australia
7 Posts
 Posted 12/09/2019  05:47 am Show Profile   Bookmark this topic Add Moj27 to your friends list Get a Link to this Message
Hello there.
I was hoping for some advice and guidance please.
I'm very new to collecting and recently at auction I made a purchase and this guy was a surprise amongst it all.
Iv done a little research and please correct me if I'm wrong but Ancient Greek- Caria, Rhodes 280-295 bc. Obverse of Helios
I'm having enough trouble with decimal coins, this I has thrown me.
It's a little smaller then a 20c coin and weighs roughly 6.33g.
So is this real or fake ?

Thankyou to anyone that maybe able to help out, very much appreciated.
Even if it's not real iv loves the history lesson .
Australia
7 Posts
 Posted 12/09/2019  06:21 am  Show Profile   Bookmark this reply Add Moj27 to your friends list Get a Link to this Reply
Sorry I thought I had posted both sides

Valued Member
United States
315 Posts
 Posted 12/09/2019  08:44 am  Show Profile   Check John K's eBay Listings Bookmark this reply Add John K to your friends list Get a Link to this Reply
looks like a gold plated fake to me but I am no expert on ancients.
Pillar of the Community
Learn More...
United States
8873 Posts
 Posted 12/09/2019  11:24 am  Show Profile   Bookmark this reply Add TNG to your friends list Get a Link to this Reply
Looks like a souvenir to me.
My favorite album!
Image hosting is provided by CCF. Thank you for your generosity!
World's Fair Exposition Medals and Tickets
http://www.coincommunity.org/galler...p?album=2020