Coin Community Family of Web Sites
Like us on Facebook! Subscribe to our Youtube Channel! Check out our Twitter! Check out our Pinterest!
Username:
Password:
Save Password
Forgot your Password?

Welcome Guest! Need help? Got a question? Inherit some coins?
Our coin forum is completely free! Register Now!

Conserving Coins Idea

Next Page

To participate in the forum you must log in or register.
Author Previous Topic Topic Next Topic
Page: of 2
Bedrock of the Community
United States
32608 Posts
 Posted 02/22/2020  1:18 pm Show Profile   Bookmark this topic Add John1 to your friends list Get a Link to this Message
I was just wondering if mixing olive oil and acetone together would be beneficial in anyway?
Thanks
John1
( I'm no pro, it's just my humble opinion )
Searched 5+ Million Cents Since 1971
Bedrock of the Community
Australia
16637 Posts
 Posted 02/22/2020  4:41 pm  Show Profile   Bookmark this reply Add sel_69l to your friends list Get a Link to this Reply
Olive oil is very slightly acidic.

Over time, a soak in olive oil will darken the surface of any bronze or copper coin, ancient or modern.
Used occasionally by museums (sometimes with lemon juice), to help remove encrustations from ancient coins recovered from direct soil contact ground burial.
Professional museum curator experience needed.

Never used with modern machine struck coins, unless you are looking to help gently remove verdigris from already damaged bronze or copper coins.
Bedrock of the Community
United States
32608 Posts
 Posted 02/22/2020  6:27 pm  Show Profile   Bookmark this reply Add John1 to your friends list Get a Link to this Reply
Thank you sel,but what about a mix of oil and acetone?
John1
Pillar of the Community
Learn More...
United States
1653 Posts
 Posted 02/22/2020  6:36 pm  Show Profile   Bookmark this reply Add keith12 to your friends list Get a Link to this Reply

Quote:
,but what about a mix of oil and acetone