Coin Community Family of Web Sites
Like us on Facebook! Subscribe to our Youtube Channel! Check out our Twitter! Check out our Pinterest!
Username:
Password:
Save Password
Forgot your Password?

Welcome Guest! Need help? Got a question? Inherit some coins?
Our coin forum is completely free! Register Now!

Questions About 1967 Centennial Dime

To participate in the forum you must log in or register.
Author Previous TopicReplies: 8 / Views: 461Next Topic  

United States
6 Posts
 Posted 04/08/2020  10:32 pm Show Profile   Bookmark this topic Add pgh_pa_guy to your friends list Get a Link to this Message
Total newbie to collecting, so I'm looking for some very basic info. I'll apologize up front for the quality of my images. I only have a phone camera to work with right now and no way to effectively light coins without major shadows.

I'm using my "house arrest" time to look through some coins from a relative's estate, and found this 10 cent coin already in a flip marked "proof". Poking through other posts I find references to proof strikes, PL coins, and business strikes. How do you know for sure which is which? This coin is super-shiny, like what I've seen as proof samples for US coins. (I didn't want to take this out of its flip until I can take better shots.) Is it a proof coin, or just one that got stuck in a holder early on?

Also, I see that this year came in two silver contents. Some of the posts I've looked at say the proof (PL?) strikes were 80% Ag/20% Cu and business strikes were 50/50. Other said all 1967's were 80% up until some point when they switched as silver prices rose. If this is a proof coin as it was labeled, is it likely the 80%? I'm not looking to sell, and the value difference is small anyway, but I just don't know enough yet about this stuff. Thanks for all the help and patience. I've long been the kind of "collector" who just picks over change for obvious things, but I never knew how involved it can be!

So here goes with my photo attempts: