Coin Community Family of Web Sites
Like us on Facebook! Subscribe to our Youtube Channel! Check out our Twitter! Check out our Pinterest!
Username:
Password:
Save Password
Forgot your Password?

Welcome Guest! Need help? Got a question? Inherit some coins?
Our coin forum is completely free! Register Now!

Help!! Bronze Disease / Verdigris Destroying My Ancients!

To participate in the forum you must log in or register.
Author Previous TopicReplies: 5 / Views: 238Next Topic  
United States
9 Posts
 Posted 07/29/2020  7:08 pm Show Profile   Bookmark this topic Add DenverPio to your friends list Get a Link to this Message
Hi folks,

I have been collecting ancient coins for roughly 5 years. My collection is primarily Byzantine and Late Roman bronze folleis, with a few silver and gold mixed in for good measure. I recently began to notice the dreaded, horrifying verdigris/bronze disease appearing on a large number of my coins. It sometimes appears as neon green dots on surfaces, and other times like a fuzzy blue-green coating.

I need help to remedy this problem now before it spreads and annihilates my entire collection!

They are stored in a Beba chest of 10 drawers in a cabinet with a door. I have placed weather stripping all around the crevices/openings of the cabinet and this has brought down the humidity to ~40%. I live in an extremely humid climate in an older home which has difficulty managing the overall humidity--so 40% is much lower than if they were stored elsewhere in the home. Silica packets strewn throughout the cabinet and a dehumidifier have not been able to bring the relative humidity lower than 40%.