Coin Community Family of Web Sites
Like us on Facebook! Subscribe to our Youtube Channel! Check out our Twitter! Check out our Pinterest!
Username:
Password:
Save Password
Forgot your Password?

Welcome Guest! Need help? Got a question? Inherit some coins?
Our coin forum is completely free! Register Now!

Another 1747 8 Reales On Ebay - Authenticity Questioned

To participate in the forum you must log in or register.
Author Previous TopicReplies: 4 / Views: 255Next Topic  

United States
5 Posts
 Posted 09/26/2020  7:35 pm Show Profile   Bookmark this topic Add Badgers to your friends list Get a Link to this Message
There is a 1747 8 Reales coin just listed on eBay; search for 174453161117.

I'm new at this, and I understand that this is a highly counterfeited coin. At the risk of offending the seller, is this coin authentic? Having read some of the posts here and elsewhere, can some of you who are far more expert than I am please comment on it? If it is a fake, is it a contemporary one, or one created to deceive collectors?

Thank you for your assistance.

Valued Member
Germany
95 Posts
 Posted 09/27/2020  8:06 pm  Show Profile   Bookmark this reply Add DirtyHarry to your friends list Get a Link to this Reply
Hi Badgers!

I try to be very careful with this topic, and there are other forum members with far more experience in this area than me.

Having said that... I'm sorry but I don't like the coin.
I think it is a forgery. Check the lettering on the reverse and the details... If you search online for some fakes from this year, I bet similar coins will show up.

As to whether contemporary or not, sorry that's beyond me but surely there are others better able to answer that.
To me it looks contemporary, but I can be wrong

Best!
Edited by DirtyHarry
09/27/2020 10:27 pm
Pillar of the Community
United States
1521 Posts
 Posted 09/29/2020  1:16 pm  Show Profile   Bookmark this reply Add realeswatcher to your friends list Get a Link to this Reply