Coin Community Family of Web Sites
Like us on Facebook! Subscribe to our Youtube Channel! Check out our Twitter! Check out our Pinterest!
Username:
Password:
Save Password
Forgot your Password?

Welcome Guest! Need help? Got a question? Inherit some coins?
Our coin forum is completely free! Register Now!

1883 O Morgan - Need Help Identifying The VAM

To participate in the forum you must log in or register.
Author Previous TopicReplies: 10 / Views: 368Next Topic  
Valued Member
United States
53 Posts
 Posted 09/29/2020  02:38 am Show Profile   Bookmark this topic Add fruitofmycoins to your friends list Get a Link to this Message
I am completely new to identifying VAM's and have been looking at pictures of different VAM's for longer than I would like to admit. Can someone please help me out?

There may be an O/O but I can't be sure because there is a lot going on in the middle of that O.

Some identifiers:

Obverse:

1. There is a die crack that starts to the left of the B and goes well after the S in PLURIBUS.

2. In the date, the second 8 is punched higher and the 3 is slightly lower.

Reverse:

1. On the second cluster of leaves on the left side, the bottom two leaves are noticeably thinner from excessive die polishing, the upper leaf on the third cluster is disconnected, as is the rightmost leaf on the fourth cluster.

2. The O mintmark appears to be tilted slightly to the left.

Hope this helps. I look forward to your responses.

Thank you,

Bedrock of the Community
United States
36135 Posts
 Posted 09/29/2020  05:03 am  Show Profile   Bookmark this reply Add John1 to your friends list Get a Link to this Reply
( I'm no pro, it's just my humble opinion )
Searched 5+ Million Cents Since 1971
Valued Member
United States
53 Posts
 Posted 09/29/2020  05:25 am  Show Profile   Bookmark this reply Add fruitofmycoins to your friends list Get a Link to this Reply
Yeah that would be the site that I've been pouring over. Or was that meant to be a joke?