Coin Community Family of Web Sites
Like us on Facebook! Subscribe to our Youtube Channel! Check out our Twitter! Check out our Pinterest!
Username:
Password:
Save Password
Forgot your Password?

Welcome Guest! Need help? Got a question? Inherit some coins?
Our coin forum is completely free! Register Now!

1994-P Quarter Plating/Clad Error?

To participate in the forum you must log in or register.
Author Previous TopicReplies: 4 / Views: 252Next Topic  
Valued Member

United States
62 Posts
 Posted 10/25/2020  4:53 pm Show Profile   Bookmark this topic Add CentHunterJ to your friends list Get a Link to this Message
Got this yesterday. Seems pretty legit. What does it look like to you guys? Oh yeah, weighs 5.50.

Bedrock of the Community
United States
36453 Posts
 Posted 10/25/2020  4:56 pm  Show Profile   Bookmark this reply Add John1 to your friends list Get a Link to this Reply
Looks normal to me.
John1
( I'm no pro, it's just my humble opinion )
Searched 5+ Million Cents Since 1971
Learn More...
United States
17731 Posts
 Posted 10/25/2020  4:57 pm  Show Profile   Bookmark this reply Add Spence to your friends list Get a Link to this Reply
@chj, for sure it is copper colored, but it seems more likely to be just surface discoloration to me. I'd expect a lower weight and areas of decreased sharpness of the design elements if a clad layer was missing. Here is a link to the page on error-ref for reference:

http://www.error-ref.com/?s=missing+clad
"If you climb a good tree, you get a push."
-----Ghanaian proverb

"The danger we all now face is distinguishing between what is authentic and what is performed."
-----King Adz

Valued Member
United States
62 Posts
 Posted 10/25/2020  6:00 pm  Show Profile   Bookmark this reply Add CentHunterJ to your friends list Get a Link to this Reply