Coin Community Family of Web Sites
Like us on Facebook! Subscribe to our Youtube Channel! Check out our Twitter! Check out our Pinterest!
Username:
Password:
Save Password
Forgot your Password?

Welcome Guest! Need help? Got a question? Inherit some coins?
Our coin forum is completely free! Register Now!

Tai-Ching-Ti-Kuo Silver Coin.

To participate in the forum you must log in or register.
Author Previous TopicReplies: 3 / Views: 194Next Topic  

France
6 Posts
 Posted 10/16/2021  11:35 am Show Profile   Bookmark this topic Add Haixham13490 to your friends list Get a Link to this Message
Hello,
first of all, thank you for accepting me on your forum.
I am an amateur numismatist living in France. (so I use a translator hence my poor English).
I acquired about fifteen Asian coins in a lot of coins bought in an auction, about twenty years ago.

Can you help me authenticate them? there are so many fakes. I will obviously put one per post.
The first: TAI-CHING-TI-KUO SILVER COIN.
Diameter: 33mm
Weight: 11.1 grams
The coin responds to the magnet.

Thank you very much
Haixham

Learn More...
United States
21437 Posts
 Posted 10/16/2021  1:05 pm  Show Profile   Bookmark this reply Add Spence to your friends list Get a Link to this Reply
@haix, your English is fine and your comment about the number of fakes is very true. I would consider any coin that is supposed to be silver, but is attracted to a magnet to be a fake.
"If you climb a good tree, you get a push."
-----Ghanaian proverb

"The danger we all now face is distinguishing between what is authentic and what is performed."
-----King Adz
Pillar of the Community
United States
1240 Posts
 Posted 10/16/2021  2:08 pm  Show Profile   Bookmark this reply Add Albert to your friends list Get a Link to this Reply
See how the denticles (tooth-like devices around the rim) differ?
They appear as beads, then irregular & elongated, then square around the coin.
This is common among many lesser quality Chinese fakes.