Coin Community Family of Web Sites
Like us on Facebook! Subscribe to our Youtube Channel! Check out our Twitter! Check out our Pinterest!
Username:
Password:
Save Password
Forgot your Password?

Welcome Guest! Need help? Got a question? Inherit some coins?
Our coin forum is completely free! Register Now!

Attica Athens Tetradrachm, Genuine Or Fake? Type?

To participate in the forum you must log in or register.
Author Previous TopicReplies: 12 / Views: 429Next Topic  

Netherlands
1 Posts
 Posted 10/19/2021  06:41 am Show Profile   Bookmark this topic Add Jan Koevoets to your friends list Get a Link to this Message
I am a professional numismatist from the Netherlands, but I don't specialize in ancient coins. This tetradrachm has been in my container 'authentic?' for a while. Maybe the community can help me out.

the Weight is 16.872 grams and the diameter is 24mm.

It definitely looks struck, not cast.

The obverse is turned 90 degrees.

Any and all thoughts on authenticity, type and/or catalog references would be highly appreciated.

Pillar of the Community
Canada
4321 Posts
 Posted 10/19/2021  07:50 am  Show Profile   Bookmark this reply Add oriole to your friends list Get a Link to this Reply
to the CCF!

If real, it is an excellent example with near perfect centering. We have a lot of very knowledgable people year, so expect a reply very soon.

I have a modest knowledge of ancients, and from the picture nothing seems obviously wrong.
Bedrock of the Community
United States
41950 Posts
 Posted 10/19/2021  07:57 am  Show Profile   Bookmark this reply Add John1 to your friends list Get a Link to this Reply
( I'm no pro, it's just my humble opinion )
Searched 6.5 +/- Million Cents Since 1971
Bedrock of the Community
Australia
19262 Posts
 Posted 10/19/2021  09:19 am  Show Profile   Bookmark this reply Add sel_69l to your friends list Get a Link to this Reply
If fake, then excellent. If any doubts,