Coin Community Family of Web Sites
Like us on Facebook! Subscribe to our Youtube Channel! Check out our Twitter! Check out our Pinterest!
Username:
Password:
Save Password
Forgot your Password?

Welcome Guest! Need help? Got a question? Inherit some coins?
Our coin forum is completely free! Register Now!

Help Identifying These Ancients Please | Roman Egypt Tets

To participate in the forum you must log in or register.
Author Previous Topic Topic Next Topic  
Valued Member
United States
88 Posts
 Posted 08/02/2009  1:16 pm Show Profile   Bookmark this topic Add TokenDave to your friends list Get a Link to this Message
Here are two ancients. They appear to be the same figure and I suspect they are Greek Imperial Coins but I am new to ancients and could be way off. Thank you for looking.

Identified - moved to Ancients forum - Sap
Valued Member
United States
88 Posts
 Posted 08/02/2009  1:24 pm  Show Profile   Bookmark this reply Add TokenDave to your friends list Get a Link to this Reply
Here are the reverse images:

Pillar of the Community
United States
671 Posts
 Posted 08/02/2009  2:28 pm  Show Profile   Bookmark this reply Add Sir Ferrari to your friends list Get a Link to this Reply
These are Roman coins, not Greek. As to exactly who the emperor is, I cannot tell much from the scans, but it appears to be one from the 3rd-4th century AD. If you post larger pictures of the coins, I could probably narrow it down some more.
Edited by Sir Ferrari
08/02/2009 8:24 pm
Bedrock of the Community
10045 Posts
 Posted 08/02/2009  2:57 pm  Show Profile   Bookmark this reply Add DVCollector to your friends list Get a Link to this Reply
No doubt, one of those "strongman" emperors, from the same period as this Probus Tetradrachm (issued in Alexandria c.276 ad)

Edited by DVCollector
08/02/2009 2:58 pm
Learn More...
Australia
13093 Posts
 Posted 08/02/2009  6:47 pm  Show Profile   Bookmark this reply Add Sap to your friends list Get a Link to this Reply