Coin Community Family of Web Sites
Like us on Facebook! Subscribe to our Youtube Channel! Check out our Twitter! Check out our Pinterest!
Username:
Password:
Save Password
Forgot your Password?

Welcome Guest! Need help? Got a question? Inherit some coins?
Our coin forum is completely free! Register Now!

1967 LMC Off Center?

To participate in the forum you must log in or register.
Author Previous Topic Topic Next Topic  
Bedrock of the Community
United States
24069 Posts
 Posted 12/13/2010  3:05 pm Show Profile   Bookmark this topic Add John1 to your friends list Get a Link to this Message
Found this one roll searching this morning. Is it considered an off center or is it something else? Value? Grade? Thanks in advance,
John1

( I'm no pro, it's just my humble opinion )
Searched 5+ Million Cents Since 1971
Pillar of the Community
United States
7629 Posts
 Posted 12/13/2010  3:34 pm  Show Profile   Bookmark this reply Add coppercoins to your friends list Get a Link to this Reply
That's a softly struck misaligned obverse die. Very little premium value, but a genuine error nonetheless.
Bedrock of the Community
United States
24069 Posts
 Posted 12/13/2010  5:15 pm  Show Profile   Bookmark this reply Add John1 to your friends list Get a Link to this Reply
What about the reverse. The gap between ONE CENT and the rim? Thanks,
John1
Pillar of the Community
Learn More...
United States
1943 Posts
 Posted 12/13/2010  5:43 pm  Show Profile   Bookmark this reply Add pyrbob to your friends list Get a Link to this Reply
I agree the obverse looks like a misaligned die plus it looks like there is some vertical misalignment. John, if you think it is off centered then check the diameter. An off centered strike is struck out of collar so the diameter would be larger.
Bedrock of the Community
United States
24069 Posts
 Posted 12/13/2010  6:31 pm  Show Profile   Bookmark this reply Add John1 to your friends list Get a Link to this Reply