Coin Community Family of Web Sites
Like us on Facebook! Subscribe to our Youtube Channel! Check out our Twitter! Check out our Pinterest!
Username:
Password:
Save Password
Forgot your Password?

Welcome Guest! Need help? Got a question? Inherit some coins?
Our coin forum is completely free! Register Now!

Metal Detected 1891-S Seated Liberty Quarter

To participate in the forum you must log in or register.
Author Previous Topic Topic Next Topic  
United States
4 Posts
 Posted 11/29/2012  10:35 pm Show Profile   Bookmark this topic Add nwdetectorist to your friends list Get a Link to this Message
Metal Detected 1891-s Seated Liberty quarter

Thanks for your input on what a coin like this might be graded at. I am wondering if it would be reasonable to have this coin slabbed with PCGS.

Thanks,

nwdetectorist

Valued Member
United States
403 Posts
 Posted 11/29/2012  11:10 pm  Show Profile   Bookmark this reply Add cjspearsdog to your friends list Get a Link to this Reply
I am no pro but from what I know your coin is only worth about $35-$45. So grading would cost as much as the coin is worth. In addition it looks like it has been cleaned, if so PCGS will not assign it a grade. Hope this helps. anyone else feel free to correct me, as I am still learning myself. Cory
Edited by cjspearsdog
11/29/2012 11:12 pm
Pillar of the Community
United States
5050 Posts
 Posted 11/29/2012  11:32 pm  Show Profile   Bookmark this reply Add Jaobler to your friends list Get a Link to this Reply

This is a terrific find for a metal detector and might just be priceless as a souvenir. However, it is a common date within the Seated Liberty quarter series. This piece would almost certainly be flagged as a "problem" coin with environmental damage by PCGS. Even if it were a problem-free VF the value would not justify spending the money to have it graded.