Coin Community Family of Web Sites
Like us on Facebook! Subscribe to our Youtube Channel! Check out our Twitter! Check out our Pinterest!
Username:
Password:
Save Password
Forgot your Password?

Welcome Guest! Need help? Got a question? Inherit some coins?
Our coin forum is completely free! Register Now!

1836 Capped Bust Quarter, Opinions On Toning

Next Page

To participate in the forum you must log in or register.
Author Previous Topic Topic Next Topic
Page: of 2
Valued Member
United States
274 Posts
 Posted 03/27/2014  10:04 pm Show Profile   Bookmark this topic Add jayman1970 to your friends list Get a Link to this Message
I would like some opinions on the toning on this one. Love it, hate it, let me know what you think.

Pillar of the Community
United States
1531 Posts
 Posted 03/27/2014  10:08 pm  Show Profile   Bookmark this reply Add Cruisinfusion to your friends list Get a Link to this Reply
I love it. I don't know why, but I enjoy the mottled toning.
I'm not an expert on types of toning and the way it forms, so I can't tell ya if it's real or not, if that's what you're asking.
Valued Member
United States
355 Posts
 Posted 03/27/2014  10:21 pm  Show Profile   Bookmark this reply Add phankins11 to your friends list Get a Link to this Reply
Meh...I kinda like it...then again I didn't start out liking the toners...they've grown on me.
Pillar of the Community
Learn More...
United States
3451 Posts
 Posted 03/27/2014  10:53 pm  Show Profile   Bookmark this reply Add CoinsKelly to your friends list Get a Link to this Reply
I am not crazy about the toning. There are very few mottled toned coins that I favor.
Learn More...
United States
23520 Posts
 Posted 03/27/2014  11:10 pm  Show Profile   Bookmark this reply Add SsuperDdave to your friends list Get a Link to this Reply
I find it pleasing but almost certain proof of a coin recovering from an old cleaning. Whether or not it's "market-acceptable," I can't say, but I'm not optimistic.
Pillar of the Community