Coin Community Family of Web Sites
Like us on Facebook! Subscribe to our Youtube Channel! Check out our Twitter! Check out our Pinterest!
Username:
Password:
Save Password
Forgot your Password?

Welcome Guest! Need help? Got a question? Inherit some coins?
Our coin forum is completely free! Register Now!

Seeking Advice On Authenticity Of Mexican Pillar Dollar 1770

To participate in the forum you must log in or register.
Author Previous Topic Topic Next Topic  

Netherlands
23 Posts
 Posted 02/24/2015  04:41 am Show Profile   Bookmark this topic Add JO3023 to your friends list Get a Link to this Message
Hi everyone,

This will be my first post in this forum. Hopefully the first of many. I discovered that I already know some you from other forums and/or Facebook. My first topic concerns a pillar dollar which does not belong to me but to a friend. All in all I have 3 Mexican pillar dollars in my collection so you can safely assume I am no expert in this type of coins. Seeing my friend's pillar dollar I have some doubts. The coin seems genuine. However I do have doubts about the edge. Hopefully some of you with more knowledge about these coins can shed some light on its authenticity.

Hopefully I can give my friend some good news. If not it will be a good learning lesson for both him and me.

Thank you in advance for any comments.
JO3023
Edited by JO3023
02/24/2015 12:38 pm
Netherlands
23 Posts
 Posted 02/24/2015  04:47 am  Show Profile   Bookmark this reply Add JO3023 to your friends list Get a Link to this Reply
Weight of the pillar dollar by the way is correct (26,93 g) as is its diameter (39+ mm)

Regards,
JO3023
Pillar of the Community
United States
3930 Posts
 Posted 02/24/2015  08:22 am  Show Profile   Bookmark this reply Add Lucky Cuss to your friends list Get a Link to this Reply
First off, welcome.