Coin Community Family of Web Sites
Like us on Facebook! Subscribe to our Youtube Channel! Check out our Twitter! Check out our Pinterest!
Username:
Password:
Save Password
Forgot your Password?

Welcome Guest! Need help? Got a question? Inherit some coins?
Our coin forum is completely free! Register Now!

Extreme Royal Mail Customs Fees

To participate in the forum you must log in or register.
Author Previous TopicReplies: 14 / Views: 2,538Next Topic  
Pillar of the Community
Learn More...
United States
2588 Posts
 Posted 04/24/2015  1:19 pm Show Profile   Check Paul Bulgerin's eBay Listings Bookmark this topic Add Paul Bulgerin to your friends list Get a Link to this Message
This is a strange one. I've been selling and shipping coins overseas for nearly six years and have never had this happen.

A buyer in England bought a Roman coin for $45. I used eBay shipping and filled out the customs part of the eBay shipping form. According to the US Customs tracking information the coin made it to London and then disappeared for over two weeks. Finally tracking resumed yesterday and the buyer got the coin.

However, she had to pay over $22 U.S. for VAT fees and "Royal Mail Handling Fees" . . . whatever they are.

I have never had any issues with the Royal Mail before, have never had a buyer have to pay customs fees and it seems ridiculous to have to pay $22 in customs fees for a $45 coin.

Did the Royal Mail screw up on this or is there a new policy in place? If there is some new policy then my days of shipping coins to the UK and EU are over.

The woman sent me photos of all the Royal Mail stickers on the coin and is actually mailing them back to me. I am going to refund her the fees.

Any help out there on this?
Paul Bulgerin
Edited by Paul Bulgerin
04/24/2015 1:50 pm
Pillar of the Community
Learn More...
United States
1754 Posts