Coin Community Family of Web Sites
Like us on Facebook! Subscribe to our Youtube Channel! Check out our Twitter! Check out our Pinterest!
Username:
Password:
Save Password
Forgot your Password?

Welcome Guest! Need help? Got a question? Inherit some coins?
Our coin forum is completely free! Register Now!

Coin Presevation And Storage

Next Page

To participate in the forum you must log in or register.
Author Previous Topic Topic Next Topic
Page: of 2

United States
2 Posts
 Posted 05/01/2016  1:30 pm Show Profile   Bookmark this topic Add alienuser to your friends list Get a Link to this Message
Greetings All!

Sorry for the windy question. I'm new to the coin collectors realm and came to the Community in search of some information. Unfortunately, the answer isn't jumping out for me so I'll post the question for the experts and hopefully it will not be a repeat.

I'm collecting Morgan silver dollars and have accumulated quite a few. They have come to me stapled in the cardboard 2x2 containers, zip lock bags, wrapped in paper... you name it. I do have a couple of MS graded coins in the hard plastic containers as well.

The question is this: Am I shooting myself in the foot if I remove the coins from the 2x2s and place them in a Whitman classic binder? I'm confident that the move from baggies and paper wraps to the binder is a good move but am not sure about the cardboard 2x2s. They really don't seem to offer much protection to the coin from what I can tell.

A lot of the coins have been "graded" by someone and have hand written notes on the margins describing the condition of the coin (Fine, AUT, XF etc.). FWIW, they are all circulated coins but in good condition. I guess my biggest hang up is that anybody can write anything on these paper holders so I don't have as much faith in them as I do in the for the ones in the sealed, hard plastic shells. Any feedback from the experienced collectors would be greatly appreciated! Thank you.