Like us on Facebook! Subscribe to our Youtube Channel! Check out our Twitter! Check out our Pinterest! Check out our Google+!
Username:
Password:
Save Password
Forgot your Password?

Welcome Guest! Need help? Got a question? Inherit some coins?
Our coin forum is completely free! Register Now!

Canadian 5 cent damage  

To participate in the forum you must log in or register.
Author Previous Topic Topic Next Topic  
Canada
16 Posts
 Posted 02/17/2017  09:59 am Show Profile   Bookmark this topic Add intocoins to your friends list Get a Link to this Message
I have no experience in this area but found this coin in a circulated roll.
Trying to determine if this is struck through grease or damage post minting.
The rim seems mostly to be intact and the obverse is undamaged.
Interested to know what others think.
Thanks.

Pillar of the Community
Canada
4408 Posts
 Posted 02/17/2017  10:22 am  Show Profile   Bookmark this reply Add thedollarman to your friends list Get a Link to this Reply
beautiful example of a strike through, congrats. very impressive!
feel free to call me Will. I'm a 17 year old collector from Mississauga, Ontario.

my PMs are always open, whether you have a question or simply wish to talk.
Pillar of the Community
Learn More...
United States
1534 Posts
 Posted 02/17/2017  10:27 am  Show Profile   Check BigSilver's eBay Listings Bookmark this reply Add BigSilver to your friends list Get a Link to this Reply
Very neat find.
I would think that it is struck through an object of some sort, not through grease as you suggested.
Pillar of the Community
Learn More...
Canada
3064 Posts
 Posted 02/17/2017  10:27 am  Show Profile   Bookmark this reply Add JimmyD to your friends list Get a Link to this Reply

Nice example.
Probably struck through grease.
Pillar of the Community
Canada
676 Posts
 Posted 02/17/2017  11:22 am  Show Profile   Bookmark this reply Add oldmike to your friends list Get a Link to this Reply
Nice struck through, I'm thinking - grease-