Coin Community Family of Web Sites
Like us on Facebook! Subscribe to our Youtube Channel! Check out our Twitter! Check out our Pinterest!
Username:
Password:
Save Password
Forgot your Password?

Welcome Guest! Need help? Got a question? Inherit some coins?
Our coin forum is completely free! Register Now!

1984P Nickel missing some letters

To participate in the forum you must log in or register.
Author Previous Topic Topic Next Topic  

United States
6 Posts
 Posted 01/11/2018  9:01 pm Show Profile   Bookmark this topic Add ChrisL to your friends list Get a Link to this Message
Hello, I found this nickel going through my first ever bank box. As you can see in the pic parts of the word "MONTICELLO" are missing. Theres a slight depression that can be seen in the picture too. What causes this? Is it worth hanging on to? Ive been sifting through my change for the past 20 years and cant recall seeing this before. Thanks!
Pillar of the Community
United States
3528 Posts
 Posted 01/11/2018  9:07 pm  Show Profile   Bookmark this reply Add CoinCents to your friends list Get a Link to this Reply
We Chris

Glad to have you here on CCF.

Most likely a "Greaser" grease filled die that partially/totally blocks parts of the devices (letters/numbers) in your case in the word Monticello

I would appreciate it if you could post a pic of the front of the coin.

Thanks
Pillar of the Community
United States
572 Posts
 Posted 01/11/2018  9:12 pm  Show Profile   Bookmark this reply Add ElonU to your friends list Get a Link to this Reply
That's a good one....being a nickel guy, I'd put it in a 2x2.
Always collecting silver wartime Jefferson nickels '42-'45!
Bedrock of the Community
Learn More...
United States
15719 Posts
 Posted 01/11/2018  9:25 pm  Show Profile   Bookmark this reply Add moxking to your friends list Get a Link to this Reply
Nice greaser, worth keeping and

United States
6 Posts