Like us on Facebook! Subscribe to our Youtube Channel! Check out our Twitter! Check out our Pinterest! Check out our Google+!
Username:
Password:
Save Password
Forgot your Password?

Welcome Guest! Need help? Got a question? Inherit some coins?
Our coin forum is completely free! Register Now!

A bunch of BU halves? 1970's and 2000's  

To participate in the forum you must log in or register.
Author Previous Topic Topic Next Topic  
Valued Member
United States
104 Posts
 Posted 05/16/2018  8:01 pm Show Profile   Bookmark this topic Add Shoesnsocks to your friends list Get a Link to this Message
Got $60 in halves from the bank today and 5 of the rolls seem to be BU, but then again I'm new at this so it's hard to tell. The first pics are from a roll from the 70's. The reed on the coins is perfect but also very orange looking. The edges feel even almost sharp on some of them.

Now some pics from a roll that was all from this millenium.
The 2011''s almost look like proofs but they don't have a frosty cameo at all.

I don't have the experience you guys have but this is new for me to find what looks like maybe a hoard. None of them seem rare or anything but just them being in this condition and being mixed together according to their decade is weird to me. They were in customer wrapped rolls.

There was also a roll of all 2008's
Valued Member
United States
104 Posts
 Posted 05/16/2018  8:16 pm  Show Profile   Bookmark this reply Add Shoesnsocks to your friends list Get a Link to this Reply
I just did some research and discovered that the 2011 P and D coins have a brilliant finish, but are not proofs. Still cool considering they weren't for circulation.
Pillar of the Community
United States
5066 Posts
 Posted 05/16/2018  8:17 pm  Show Profile   Bookmark this reply Add Earle42 to your friends list Get a Link to this Reply
It looks as if you got an older roll that was put away years ago - possibly by a collector. I had a few mixed BU rolls like this from my grandfather.