Coin Community Family of Web Sites
Like us on Facebook! Subscribe to our Youtube Channel! Check out our Twitter! Check out our Pinterest!
Username:
Password:
Save Password
Forgot your Password?

Welcome Guest! Need help? Got a question? Inherit some coins?
Our coin forum is completely free! Register Now!

Nero Tetradrachm Question

Next Page

To participate in the forum you must log in or register.
Author Previous Topic Topic Next Topic
Page: of 2

United States
2 Posts
 Posted 12/26/2018  11:40 pm Show Profile   Bookmark this topic Add Cusickjm to your friends list Get a Link to this Message
Hello all!

I'm brand new here, and pretty new to the realm of ancient coin collecting. I've always been a fan of Roman history, and since I'm also a musician, Nero has always been of a particular interest to me. (Plus, the dude was kind of nuts! So that's cool!) So as my first Roman Coin purchase, I got this Nero Tetradrachm. I'm pretty excited about it, but don't really know if I got a good deal or overpaid. I know it's silver, and weighs around 14.4 grams. It also looks to me to be roughly in good-ish shape, since the ridges are still fairly clear. (I do realize, however that since the corners have been cropped some of the lettering is no longer there, and that will obviously lower the value.) Any thoughts on how much it might be worth? Or even some ways I can start to decipher worth of an ancient coin on my own?

Also, I was doing some research on methods of cleaning up these ancient coins. Is this something I should do? Any thoughts would be incredibly valued! Thanks!

Valued Member
United States
217 Posts
 Posted 12/27/2018  12:58 am  Show Profile   Bookmark this reply Add Matt2727 to your friends list Get a Link to this Reply
Good detail, but the corrosion detracts from eye appeal. A dealer would sell in the $100-200 range, I think.