Coin Community Family of Web Sites
Like us on Facebook! Subscribe to our Youtube Channel! Check out our Twitter! Check out our Pinterest!
Username:
Password:
Save Password
Forgot your Password?

Welcome Guest! Need help? Got a question? Inherit some coins?
Our coin forum is completely free! Register Now!

I Am Fairly New To The Coin Hunting Scene

To participate in the forum you must log in or register.
Author Previous Topic Topic Next Topic  

United States
42 Posts
 Posted 09/03/2019  05:13 am Show Profile   Bookmark this topic Add Ryanandfamily5 to your friends list Get a Link to this Message
Hello to anyone who reads this post, I am curious on hearing from anyone willing to explain to me how hunting threw coins works .
I am wondering if all US coins that are made, do they only use 1 blank planchett from the day its minted and never try to reuse that coin again in the future. with out having to re-melt the medal contents?
probably a dumb thing to ask but again I am sorta new to this hobby and when I am searching for coins worth keeping with errors I seem to find certain coins that look like they have been minted on top of other past dated currency ,to me I think I see faint indications of coins that have been re minted over just wondering if this is normal or not. Does the us mints reuse older coins for newer pressed currency purposes. does anyone know if they re melt the medal and make blank planchetts or do the try to re face the coin then press it with newer style stamp I seem to be chasing my self with this issue of mine hoping for other peoples thoughts or opinions on this topic.
Thanks for any advise your willing to give!
Valued Member
179 Posts
 Posted 09/03/2019  08:30 am  Show Profile   Bookmark this reply Add James Hicks to your friends list Get a Link to this Reply