Thanks Samcoin and Ty2020b.
I'm not sure I understand why you don't think it's a dropped leaf, Pete, can you explain?
SamCoin, I really like that question because I keep asking myself the same thing since struck through a "dropped leaf" was my first thought. But I wanted to get more experienced opinions from others about other possibilities I might be overlooking.
Most dropped letters I've seen have very sharp perimeter details but the perimeter details on this extra leaf is "mushy". I don't know if multiple coins can be struck by a dropped letter and if so will the perimeter be mushy? Maybe there is another "leaf" out there with a sharper perimeter that was struck before this one.
This coin does appear to be a late die state coin and I was trying to rule out a Type II counterclash since a counter clash (obv or rev) will have repeating design elements from the same side where it is evident.
From Error-Ref: http://www.error-ref.com/counterclash-type-ii/
"Definition: Type II counterclashes trace their origin to a stray piece of hard metal that invades the striking chamber. The metal can be a die fragment, a piece of the collar, a piece of hardware like a bolt or washer, a broken-off machine part, or just about anything else one can imagine. In most cases it's impossible to identify the nature and origin of the foreign object. The object receives an initial strike, which leaves it with a raised design on one or both faces (one face can be protected by a planchet). The object then shifts position within the striking chamber and is struck again. This transfers the design back to the die face in the form of an incuse mirror image.
Generally, only the field portion of the die face is affected. Every coin struck afterward shows raised, normally-oriented design elements in an unexpected location.
"(Maroon and Green highlights seem to contradict each other so I must be reading something wrong.)
Looking at the first 1983p counterclash at maddieclashes (CCL(T2)-1c-1983-01)http://www.maddieclashes.com/cclt2-1c-1983-01/
the clash above the date is mirrored but seems to be raised.
So if the counterclashes are always raised (mirrored or normal orientation) this extra leaf would not be a counterclash.
Thanks to everyone here and hope I haven't made people feel like I've been
. I still have my questions on this one but I'll go ahead and label this a dropped letter (unless I hear anything different from Mike or others).
Edited by Petespockets55
09/20/2020 11:25 am