Coin Community Family of Web Sites
Like us on Facebook! Subscribe to our Youtube Channel! Check out our Twitter! Check out our Pinterest!
Username:
Password:
Save Password
Forgot your Password?

Welcome Guest! Need help? Got a question? Inherit some coins?
Our coin forum is completely free! Register Now!

1989 Insane Error Not Sure What To Call It...

To participate in the forum you must log in or register.
Author Previous Topic Topic Next Topic  

United States
5 Posts
 Posted 12/15/2019  10:20 am Show Profile   Bookmark this topic Add Pagoon to your friends list Get a Link to this Message
hello I am new to numismatics error coins I'm not sure what this is called is it a die clash or just a double strike any info on this would be great ... is it worth anything also. I dont think its a die clash.the reverse is very weak.thank you

Pillar of the Community
Canada
2678 Posts
 Posted 12/15/2019  10:38 am  Show Profile   Check silverwolf's eBay Listings Bookmark this reply Add silverwolf to your friends list Get a Link to this Reply
PMD, this is a vice job, you can see that the lettering is reversed, someone put 2 or more cents, in a vice, and squeezed the extra impression on the coin.
Bedrock of the Community
Learn More...
United States
14581 Posts
 Posted 12/15/2019  10:45 am  Show Profile   Bookmark this reply Add Spence to your friends list Get a Link to this Reply
Yes this not an error at all but rather manufactured damage by someone trying to fool the less educated. This is why CCF is here.
"If you climb a good tree, you get a push."
-----Ghanaian proverb

"The danger we all now face is distinguishing between what is authentic and what is performed."
-----King Adz

United States
5 Posts
 Posted 12/15/2019  11:09 am  Show Profile   Bookmark this reply Add Pagoon to your friends list Get a Link to this Reply
i thought so to but it has the same diameter and thickness as any other penny
United States
5 Posts